Loading...
 

1924 Seconds Season

For the first time senior reserves played with the team and were eligible for promotion to the seniors during the year. Teams representing Coburg and Leopold played amongst the VFL sides.

Players included Sam Brownbill, Cannon, Jimmy Davidson, Davies, Drake, Forness, Fulling, Roy James, A. McMahon, Porter, Shingfield, Slatter, Southern, Sprigg, Stokes, Ward, Syd Watson and Wise

Matches


Round 1 - Saturday 26 April
Melbourne 13.19 d. St Kilda 10.4
Goals - Parker 6, Davis 4, Atkinson 2, Bowman 1
Best - Robertson, Parker, Brownbill

Round 2 - Saturday 3 May
Coburg 12.12.84 d. Melbourne 8.19.67
Goals - Davies 2, Greenwood 1, Greening 1, Drake 1, Arthur 1, Atkinson 1, Jackson 1

Round 3 - Saturday 10 May
Collingwood 17.9.111 d. Melbourne 9.9.63

Round 4 - Saturday 17 May
Carlton 3.9.27 d. Melbourne 2.6.18

Round 5 - Saturday 24 May
Leopold 12.27.99 d. Melbourne 8.7.55
Goals - Gaby 5, M. Coll 1, Smith 1, Parker 1

Round 6 - Saturday 31 May
Geelong 8.19.67 d. Melbourne 8.9.57
Goals - Davie 5, Ward 2, McMahon 1
Best - Drake, Cannon, Brownbill

Round 7 - Saturday 7 June
Richmond 17.18.120 d. Melbourne 9.3.57

Round 8 - Saturday 14 June
Fitzroy 11.17 d. Melbourne 8.6
Goals - Davies 5, Parker 2, Slatter 1

Round 9 - Saturday 21 June
Essendon 11.15.81 d. Melbourne 0.6
Goals - None

Round 10 - Saturday 28 June
Melbourne 8.8.56 d. St Kilda 5.6.36
Goals - Davie 3, Unknown 5

Round 11 - Saturday 5 July
Coburg 11.19.76 d. Melbourne 4.11.35
Goals - Ewer 2, Drake 2, Elliot 1

Round 12 - Saturday 12 July
Collingwood 11.8.74 d. Melbourne 5.13.43
Goals - Sweeney 2, Davies 1, McMahon 1, Forness 1

Round 13 - Saturday 19 July
Carlton 10.4.64 d. Melbourne 4.10.34
Goals - Davies, White, Forness, Jackson

Round 14 - Saturday 26 July
Leopold 12.14.186 d. Melbourne 7.17.59
Goals - Davie 4, Lester 2, Parker 1

Round 15 - Saturday 2 August
Geelong 20.17.137 d. Melbourne 2.5.17
Goals - Davidson 1, Davie 1

Round 16 - Saturday 9 August
Melbourne vs Geelong
Goals - Davie 7

Saturday 23 August
Richmond 12.10.82 d. Melbourne 5.8.38

Saturday 30 August
Fitzroy 20.13.133 d. Melbourne 4.13.37
Goals - Bannon 2, Eddy 2, Fornen (?) 2

Saturday 6 September
Essendon 10.13.73 d. Melbourne 7.5.47
Goals - Parker 3, Atkin 1, Eady 1, Drake 1, Jackson 1
Best - Fulling, Forness, Drake

Ladder

TeamPoints
Geelong 60
Richmond 56
Essendon 52
Fitzroy 52
Leopold 40
Coburg 40
Collingwood 30
Carlton 18
Melbourne 8
St Kilda 4

Media
Sporting Globe - 30/04/1924
The Argus - 08/09/1924

Links
Tigerland Archive

Created by supermercado. Last Modification: Friday 11 January 2019 21:55:14 AEDT by Supermercado. (Version 19)

Donate to Demonwiki

Search

Google Search